What are the different types of criminal law?

There are three types of criminal law: misdemeanors, felonies, and infractions. Which equal: substantive criminal law, procedural criminal law, and criminal law enforcement.

Substantive criminal law is the body of law that defines crimes and establishes punishments. This area of law deals with the elements of a crime, the defenses to a crime, and the penalties for committing a crime.

Procedural criminal law is the body of law that governs how crimes are investigated and prosecuted. This area of law includes rules on how evidence is collected and presented in court, how suspects are arrested and questioned, and how cases are tried.

Criminal law enforcement is the branch of government that is responsible for investigating and prosecuting crimes. This branch includes police departments, district attorneys’ offices, and courts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *